Whoop(s)ie! This blog needs a new name!

My quest to start a whoopie pie stand of my very own in a Chicago farmers market.

Classic Chocolate Marshmallow Whoopie Pies

Behold!  The classic whoopie pie!

In’it cute?

I used a pretty decent chocolate cake recipe from Gilt Taste of all places, and the classic marshmallow fluff recipe here.  I wanted to make the marshmallow fluff filling because I wanted to try a variation on s’mores, which is one of the flavors I would eventually like to sell and also wanted to try the “classic” whoopie pie.  (I think this would technically be a classic only in Maine where they’re known to use marshmallow for their filling as opposed to the Amish, who use a kind of vanilla icing.)

So I made some simple chocolate cake/marshmallow fluff pies and then for some I added speculoos spread to one cake before filling.  Speculoos spread is made out of spice cookies (most often Biscoff cookies) and tastes kind of similar to peanut butter or graham crackers.  It’s for that reason I thought the chocolate, marshmallow, graham-ish flavors would hopefully meld into a s’more flavor.  Alas, they did not, but they did meld into a delicious whoopie pie nonetheless.  I think I’ll have to try graham cakes with chocolate ganache and marshmallow filling instead to get a s’more flavor.

And though they did end up looking pretty nice in the pictures (thanks goes to Patrick for the pictures!), if you let them sit around too long at room temp the tops started to slide off, and the marshmallow fluff would get stuck to anything nearby: the plate, another whoopie pie, your fingers…

So this was a good start, but I’d like the chocolate cake to be a little more moist than these were, and I’ll definitely need to work on firming up the fluff so these guys can stand up on their own.  All in all, not a bad experiment by any means since we now have an entire jar of speculoos spread in the apartment.  Not that we’ve tried it on anything else yet…not like cinnamon graham crackers…or Dulce de Leche Girl Scout Cookies…or toast…or silly things like that.  No way.  Not us.

Comment? Question? Suggestion?

Information

This entry was posted on February 28, 2012 by in baking, Flavor trials, Macaron and tagged , , , .

The Archives

My Tumblr

My Foodspotting Sightings

