Whoop(s)ie! This blog needs a new name!

My quest to start a whoopie pie stand of my very own in a Chicago farmers market.

Whoopie! A Review! Sweet Mandy B’s

When tossing around potential whoopie pie stand names among friends and family, I really like to push my personal favorite: Whoopie!  Pies! (said with all of the intensity one can muster for those demanding exclamation points)

But since it seems no one else shares my excitement for that one (yes, I know it would be challenging to keep the excitement up every time you say it, but it’s so fun!), I’ll content myself to morph it into the new heading for what once was the “‘RoonReview.”

After a filling and delicious $22 three-course lunch from Benny’s Chop House for Chicago’s Restaurant Week (by the way, we wholeheartedly recommend Benny’s), my dad, boyfriend and I went totally crazy and picked up a few whoopie pies (don’t worry, we didn’t eat them right away).

I was shocked upon first stepping into Sweet Mandy B’s: it was a Monday afternoon and yet not only were there ten or so customers milling around, but there were almost as many people behind the counter, and they were all busy!  You would have thought it was the weekend.  The interior of the bakery looks much like their website: a colorful array of desserts displayed among a patchwork of bright pastels.  After noting all of the customers and totally being sucked in by the enticing displays, I had my hopes up for their two flavors of whoopie pie.

a semi-traditional chocolate with vanilla buttercream filling and red velvet with a vaguely cream cheese filling

At first I thought it was kind of strange that they offered a chocolate flavor as well as red velvet , since red velvet is really just chocolate dyed red, but they did taste different.  What is most unusual about these whoopies is that they are frosted and sprinkled on top.  After trying them, I think that this is an attempt at keeping the cakes moist since the whoopies aren’t individually wrapped.  Unfortunately, I don’t think it’s a very successful attempt.

The chocolate flavor was intense.  I don’t think I’ve ever had a dessert that was more demanding of a glass of milk.  You don’t just want a glass of milk to go with this whoopie; you need it, and I’m not crazy about that.  Not only was it a little dry, it was overly sweet and dense.  The vanilla buttercream was grainy and the main culprit behind the tooth-aching sweetness.  Luckily there wasn’t too much of it.  The sprinkles and frosting on top did improve the experience by adding another flavor and texture, but I don’t think this is something I would eat again.

Notice anything a little off? These may or may not be strategically positioned to hide some missing bits...hey! It's hard to remember to take pictures when they look so yummy...

The red velvet wasn’t much better, though it was less intense.  The cake was pretty bland although I did catch just a hint of salt (no thanks), and the cream cheese in the filling and frosting was almost undetectable.

Overall, I’m surprised whoopie pies of this caliber came out of a bakery that seems to be doing so well.  I can see why whoopie pies aren’t more prevalent if this is how they’re generally made.  I think it’s probably important to individually wrap each pie so the cakes stay moist (nothing worse than dry cake!), and I think I prefer unconventional, lighter fillings instead of heavy, too-sweet icing…things like pudding, pastry cream, and marshmallow fluff.  And lots of it.

Stay tuned for my first whoopie experiment (Whoopie!  Experiment!), which I’m happy to report was a smashing success.

6 comments on “Whoopie! A Review! Sweet Mandy B’s

  1. Chicalogy
    February 21, 2012

    OMG! I am in love with those little yummies…they look amazing! I too am enjoying restaurant week :).

  2. Pingback: Banana Puddin’ Whoopie Pies « Whoops(ie)! This blog needs a new name!

  3. Diana Sheffer
    March 2, 2012

    My Whoopie Pies ARE individually wrapped and very moist. That’s one of the things I worked on when I was experimenting with recipes. I think some bakers worry about how the whoopies look and want them to be puffier – to the detriment of the moisture. They are also not too sweet. I’d love to bring you a sample!

    • macmaker
      March 8, 2012

      And I would love to have a sample, Diana! Let me know how we can get together. If you happen to be going to the Dose Market on Sunday, we could meet up there!

      • Diana Sheffer
        March 12, 2012

        Hi,

        Sorry I couldn’t make it yesterday. However, I will be a making a delivery downtown on Thursday morning and I’ll be glad to drop some off for you on the way?

        Diana

  4. macmaker
    March 12, 2012

    I will actually be out of town Tue-Sat this week, so I won’t be around for a delivery. Guess I should place a bona fide order on your website! I’ll try to do that in the next week or so. Thanks for the attempt though!

Comment? Question? Suggestion?

Information

This entry was posted on February 21, 2012 by in Stand name, whoopie pies, whoopie! a review! and tagged , , , , .

The Archives

My Tumblr

My Foodspotting Sightings

