Whoop(s)ie! This blog needs a new name!

My quest to start a whoopie pie stand of my very own in a Chicago farmers market.

Macsperiment #10: Is this ever going to work?

Last year for Christmas I went on a 3-day truffle-making bender, in which I produced around 80 truffles (5 different varieties!) and a s’mores bark, which I then packaged in beautiful boxes I had custom made from Alchemy on Etsy.com (sad fact: for some unimaginable reason, they’ve discontinued Alchemy, a genius forum in which you could post a wanted item and have craft makers bid on producing it for you).  I gave them out to family members and coworkers as additional presents: the proverbial chocolate icing on the Christmas cake, if you will.

This year I have it made, I thought.  I can just make macarons for everyone!  I’ll kill two birds with one stone – not only do I get the practice, but baked goods are a fantastic answer to the annually difficult What In the World Am I Going to Get All Nine of My Coworkers for Cheap question.  I’ll make them in white and blue, I thought, not only are they the company colors, but Christmas-y/Hannukah-y too!  I’ll even buy silver pearl dust to brush on the white ones so they look like pretty, pretty snowflakes.  And I’ll make them simple flavors that everyone likes, like vanilla and mint chocolate.  Oh the plans!

Oh the plans.

Oh the disappointment.

Pretty color though, right?

This time around I used the French meringue macaron recipe in Macarons: Authentic French Cookie Recipes from the Macaron Cafe.  The yield was gigantic, but I was determined to get those stiff egg whites like I got in class, so I went for it: a whole cup of egg whites.  And I got the stiff, clumpy egg whites!  They were perfect.  But then my oven had to go and ruin everything.

Thanks, oven.

To be honest, I am incredibly discouraged.

The recipe made four (four!) sheets of macaron shells.  I went out and bought two nice, heavy KitchenAid sheet pans and used parchment paper.  I used my trusty old silpat on the old sheet pan I had, and reused a new sheet pan once it cooled for the fourth batch.  I tried baking each tray a little differently.  The first I baked at the suggested 300 degrees F, and it was the most successful, by which I mean I got about 4 mediocre shells out of it and the rest were cracked (on the edges, of course).

the sole modestly successful shells

For the second tray, I brought the oven up to 300 degrees, then shut it off right before I put the tray in under the assumption that excessive heat on the edges wouldn’t crack the macarons on the edges.  Instead they all cracked.  What?

For the third, I brought the oven up to 300 degrees, and then cracked the door about 8-10 inches (I read on another blog that the only way one woman could figure out how to use her oven to successfully make macarons was to leave the door open the entire time, so I thought this would be a nice compromise).  I then watched as all of the shells puffed up enormously and then CRRRCKK!  Cracked even more spectacularly than the first two batches and then each shell browned on the edges before they were done internally.

I think the fourth batch was botched from the start because the batter sat in a piping bag for 45 minutes to an hour while I baked the first batch, and when I piped them out, the batter didn’t have the same heft as it did in the first few batches.  It was flatter and shinier.  These baked up the worst of all.

I’m at a loss.  I’ve hit the macaron wall, and it’s not pretty.  I feel like I’ve given my oven every shot, and it continuously lets me down.  But there’s no way to be absolutely certain I haven’t gotten anything good only because of my oven.  I could be doing something else wrong and not even know it.  The only way to figure it out would be to use a nicer, newer, professional oven.  But I don’t know where to go to do that.  I only have one thing left to try, which is doubling up my two nice sheet pans and baking them at different temperatures.  If that doesn’t work, I’m not sure what I’m going to do.

I do have to mention that they at least tasted delicious.  I flavored the shells with peppermint extract and used a classic chocolate ganache that I actually made with some chocolate soy milk instead of cream just because I didn’t want to buy cream and have the leftovers go bad in my fridge.  It turned out exactly like the ganache I made with cream, so you can bet I’m going to continue to do that.  They taste like mint chocolate chip ice cream without the crunch from the chips.  Well, at least I’ve got that.

5 comments on “Macsperiment #10: Is this ever going to work?

  1. Allison
    November 23, 2011

    Just wanted to let you know that I wrote about you on my blog today. I’m cheering you on! Your journey is actually very inspiring.

    Have you heard of the show called “2 Broke Girls?” You reminded me of the girls on this show, who are trying to start their own cupcake business out of their apartment.

    I wish you the best!

  2. andrea
    November 23, 2011

    My english isnt that good, so i hope i can be clear…Are you letting your macarons sit a bit after putting them on the sheet? We call it ”crouter” They are ready to bake when they arent sticky anymore when you put a finger on one!

    • macmaker
      November 27, 2011

      Hi Andrea – I should have mentioned that. I did actually let them sit and they were dry to the touch before baking. The first tray sat for about 45 minutes and the second was probably closer to an hour. Thanks for the suggestion though!

  3. Amy
    November 25, 2011

    Have you thought about adding a dish with water to the oven..something to help with the humidity within.. It seems to me that the cracking has something to do with the dryness or lack of moisture. When I back a cheesecake I always have a dish with about 1 inch of water in the oven below where I’m baking. This always prevents the cheesecake from cracking…

    • macmaker
      November 27, 2011

      Hi Amy – that’s definitely something worth a try. I’ve read some recipes that say you should open your oven door to let humidity out of the oven while they’re baking, so clearly the amount of moisture in the oven does matter. Just have to figure out how…

Comment? Question? Suggestion?

Information

This entry was posted on November 22, 2011 by in Macaron, Macsperiments (Macaron experiments) and tagged , , , , , .

The Archives

My Tumblr

My Foodspotting Sightings

