Whoop(s)ie! This blog needs a new name!

My quest to start a whoopie pie stand of my very own in a Chicago farmers market.

‘RoonReview: Normandie Country Bakery Stand in the LA Farmer’s Market

As I mentioned in my last post, we visited the decades-old Farmer’s Market at 3rd and Fairfax in LA while working/vacationing there recently. It was an excellent activity that I would recommend to anyone visiting LA not only because you can get some great food, produce, and gifts for family back home, but also because it’s unlike any other farmer’s market I’ve ever seen. It had all of the usual farmer’s market stands and then some, but all of them had permanent awnings and glass, metal, and wooden display cases set into concrete. I didn’t plan on seeing any macarons there, but when I just happened to stumble upon some at a bakery stand with an extensive selection, I couldn’t pass them up.

20111107-072223.jpg

$20 for a dozen (very reasonable)

The only problem was that they didn’t come with any kind of indication of what the favors were.

20111107-072349.jpg

Flavors I definitely tasted: chocolate, hazelnut, pistachio, peach, lemon, strawberry, and some other kind of nut.

20111107-072622.jpg

chocolate and strawberry

I thought the poppy seeds were a nice touch on the strawberry.

20111107-072859.jpg

An unidentified orange flavor, lemon, and pistachio(?)

20111107-072948.jpg

The unidentified orange flavor was pretty at least

The flavors were pretty standard in terms of taste. Nothing besides the one unidentified nutty flavor really stood out. Peach wasn’t bad either. The texture on most of them was great: soft and creamy center with a nice slight crunch on the outer shell, although some of the shells did toe the line between just right and too dry. And there was an unfortunate hollow chocolate shell incident.

20111107-073345.jpg

If I were in the area and jonesing for some macarons, I would definitely stop by this stand…probably wouldn’t get a dozen again though unless I had 4 other people to eat them with.

And look, I got something healthy too! A delicious, gigantic red pear. You go, California produce.

20111107-073706.jpg

Coming up next: the macaron class I took on Saturday. This untrained baker is now slightly more trained!

Comment? Question? Suggestion?

Information

This entry was posted on November 7, 2011 by in 'RoonReviews, Farmers markets, Macaron, Pictures...pretty, pretty pictures and tagged , , , , .

The Archives

My Tumblr

My Foodspotting Sightings

