Whoop(s)ie! This blog needs a new name!

My quest to start a whoopie pie stand of my very own in a Chicago farmers market.

Baby’s first apple pie

We interrupt your regularly scheduled macaron programming for this important announcement:

I did it!  Or I should say: we did it!  My boyfriend and I made the best apple pie I have ever eaten, and I swear I’m not saying that because I helped make it.  I really think it’s mind-blowingly good.  I don’t know how it could be better, actually.  It’s really that good.  We used apples we had picked at an orchard ourselves (they were probably honeycrisp, golden delicious, and maybe some gala) and most of this recipe from Brown Eyed Baker.  She got me with that line that this recipe blows her other formerly favorite apple pie out of the water.  The only thing I changed was a last-minute lard for vegetable shortening swap (it’s so much cheaper!  and come on…pie crust and lard go together like, well, apples and cinnamon), and just look at the beauty!

I didn't even arrange this shot, it naturally arranged itself!

Here’s another shot just because I was so happy there were no major tears and the shaping looked so adorbs.

And we also ended up using my boyfriend’s mom’s crumble recipe as we’d already made the crust and filling by the time we talked to her.  We were also extremely liberal with the freshly grated nutmeg, as everyone should be.  And this is what we got!

probably should've aluminum foiled the crust, but I was too lazy

It’s I-can’t-stop-eating-this good.  Coming up next: macsperiment #8.  Come back soon!

2 comments on “Baby’s first apple pie

  1. Irene
    October 21, 2011

    That. Looks. SOOOO good!!! I kind of want to visit you just to try that pie. What would you rate the difficulty level?

    • macmaker
      October 21, 2011

      You should visit just to try it! I wouldn’t even be offended because we have 2 days to finish it, and I don’t think it’s going to happen. I’d rate the difficulty as medium if you have a food processor to whip up the crust. Rolling it out is probably the hardest part, and it’s not that bad. It just took a while because there are so many steps. But it’s SO WORTH IT.

Comment? Question? Suggestion?

Information

This entry was posted on October 20, 2011 by in Pictures...pretty, pretty pictures and tagged , , , , .

The Archives

My Tumblr

My Foodspotting Sightings

