Whoop(s)ie! This blog needs a new name!

My quest to start a whoopie pie stand of my very own in a Chicago farmers market.

Things I’m excited about

  1. This macaron making class.  This untrained macmaker is about to be trained, folks!  And it’s not nearly as expensive as this macaron class, although I would love to be able to afford that one as it’s 15 hours of instruction and taught at one of the best pastry schools in the country…maybe someday (wistful sigh).
  2. My appointment with a Score mentor, which is set for Tuesday.  It’s a free service provided to small businesses/entrepreneurs where I’ll hopefully learn about all of the certifications and registrations I’ll need to start a macaron stand.  Small fear: I’ll leave more discouraged than encouraged.
  3. Showing you my latest failure macsperiment.  In a word: slide.  I’ll just let you think about that.
  4. Macarons from Mad Mac, a company that provides macarons and madeleines to a bunch of NYC bakeries, that I ordered for a discount through Gilt Taste.  They’re currently chillin’ in my freezer with #3 above.  Hopefully their delicate French sensibilities won’t be insulted by the disgrace that was my latest macsperiment.  They’ll be thawed out for my family this weekend.  Fun fact: one of the two chefs who started Mad Mac is that terribly mean French guy who’s always a judge on the Food Network’s Cupcake Wars.
  5. These books that are waiting for me on hold at the library:

Yay for new recipes!

5 comments on “Things I’m excited about

  1. Irene
    October 5, 2011

    OMG Lindsey! A macaron class? That is SO exciting. 😀 That’s like a dream come true in my opinion. Good for you.
    I can’t wait to hear your review on Mad Mac’s macarons. I looove Cupcake Wars, as you know, and Florian is quite harsh. It’ll be so interesting to see if his macarons are as amazing as he makes himself seem.
    P.S. Speaking of Cupcake Wars, I love Candice as a judge, but I went to Sprinkles in Chicago, and I wasn’t overly impressed. Just FYI. 😉

  2. brittney
    October 6, 2011

    I’ve actually never tried or even seen a macaron before. I know, insane! They look delicious, I am going to have to attempt them someday.

  3. Caroline
    October 10, 2011

    I absolutely love macaroons, but have yet to try making them. A macaroon class would be very beneficial! That’s so awesome. Have fun. 🙂

  4. Joanna
    October 10, 2011

    Hi there, thanks for visiting and liking my post. Wow you are a macaron babe already. I confess I have tried exactly once and while I was very happy eating my results they weren’t exactly showcase material. Never mind ! I wish you the very best of luck with your venture 😀

    • macmaker
      October 11, 2011

      haha…well as you can see my results aren’t exactly gorgeous either. your bread sure is, on the other hand. very impressive!

Comment? Question? Suggestion?

Information

This entry was posted on October 5, 2011 by in Macaron, Macsperiments (Macaron experiments) and tagged , , , , .

The Archives

My Tumblr

My Foodspotting Sightings

