Whoop(s)ie! This blog needs a new name!

My quest to start a whoopie pie stand of my very own in a Chicago farmers market.

Macmaker “featured” on Serious Eats!

Hey, readers!  A writer on my favorite food blog opened up his regular weekly post to questions – readers were invited to ask anything at all for a 24-hour period, and you know I took him up on that offer!  He had 164 questions to answer in a day, and he did it!  Here‘s the post!  You’ll have to scroll a little more than halfway down the page or Edit –> Find “Hopes” because my question is under ” On Hopes and Dreams.”  If you don’t want to do all that work, here’s what it says:

Hi Kenji – I think I have a good idea, but I’d like the opinion of someone with your level of national food knowledge. I want to start a macaron stand in a Chicago farmer’s market next summer. I don’t have any formal pastry training, but am intelligent and a perfectionist, and I know there will be a number of certification/food safety hoops I’ll have to jump through, which I’m fine with. I’m worried that maybe the macaron fad has passed though, but buoyed by the fact that I could only find less than a couple dozen results when I googled “macaron Chicago.” (to understand more of my reasons for opening a stand, here’s my blog: http://www.macmaker.wordpress.com) So thumbs up or thumbs down?

I’m not one to stomp on dreams, so I’d say thumbs up. However, make absolutely sure you do your research and that you are prepared to have your life completely taken over by this project. Running a food operation is no small feat, no matter how simple the idea is. You’ll be working night and day like you’ve never worked before, and you’ll probably make less money than you’ve ever made before. If you’re prepared for that, then by all means, go for it!

The thing is, I’m totally prepared for it to take over my life.  It almost already has!  That’s why I’m doing it, so I was happy with that answer.  I’ll be making another batch today and visiting a bakery tomorrow with some friends so expect lots of updates and pictures shortly.

Comment? Question? Suggestion?

Information

This entry was posted on September 10, 2011 by in Macaron and tagged , , , .

The Archives

My Tumblr

My Foodspotting Sightings

