Whoop(s)ie! This blog needs a new name!

My quest to start a whoopie pie stand of my very own in a Chicago farmers market.

Whoopie! A Review! Diana’s Whoopie Pies

I’m still here. I am.

And I’m still digging whoopies. I promise.

I’ve just been a little occupied with family things and oh yeah…researching and writing this monster, and these little monsters (look at the pic on that one – I got a new lens for my camera, and I loooove it). And pretty soon I’m diving head-first into the mouth of another (macaron) monster (what would that look like? I google imaged it to find out). You’ll hear about that soon.

But I’ve returned for the time being, at least, with a review. Whoopie!

The lovely Diana of Diana’s Whoopie Pies chimed in on one of my last posts and confirmed my speculation that whoopie pies need to be individually wrapped to stay moist and offered a sample of her moist and individually-wrapped whoopies. You can order whoopies through her website, and she delivers them to you for free! Pretty sweet system. So say you’ve just had a rough week at work and want to give yourself a little treat. You could order some whoopies for Sunday delivery, and hang out in your p.j.’s all weekend. Just you and 12 adorable whoopie pies.

See? I told you they were adorable.

Sounds like a vacation to me.

The best part of this beautiful wrapping is that the ribbon is ingeniously attached to a twist-tie. So the only thing that stands between you and chocolatey whoopie action is a few twists and some cling wrap. No scissors or broken fingernail disasters!

Can you tell I hastily took these before digging right in?

I ordered a dozen small whoopies ($24): 6 classic and 6 double chocolate. That’s chocolate filling with chocolate cakes. Guess which was my favorite.

DOUBLE CHOCOLATE

Come on now.

These were obviously made and wrapped with a ton of care, and they did not disappoint. They were moist and tender. The cake had a great deep chocolate flavor, and the fillings on both the classic and double chocolate were smooth and not overly sweet. If you have the foresight to order some whoopies or, even better, you have a party coming up, these would be a smashing addition to any fiesta.

Or night alone. On the couch. Just you and The Notebook. And 12 whoopies.

2 comments on “Whoopie! A Review! Diana’s Whoopie Pies

  1. Brittany
    April 20, 2012

    Ohh 12 whoopies and a movie sound perfect!

    • macmaker
      April 23, 2012

      Right? Doesn’t that just sound like something you’d never regret? ;)

Comment? Question? Suggestion?

Information

This entry was posted on April 20, 2012 by in baking, whoopie pies, whoopie! a review! and tagged , , , , , .

The Archives

My Tumblr

My Foodspotting Sightings

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

