Whoop(s)ie! This blog needs a new name!

My quest to start a whoopie pie stand of my very own in a Chicago farmers market.

Banana Puddin’ Whoopie Pies

It’s fitting that I ended up using the filling from my last (truly last) batch of macarons for my first batch of whoopie pies since that was the terrible, no good, very bad batch that gave me the whoopie (!) pie idea.  I decided to make vanilla cakes since my leftover filling was a thick banana pudding.  Don’t worry, I’ll go classic and make some chocolate cakes next time.

I used the vanilla cake recipe here, and they came out looking almost exactly like that picture.  What?  A recipe that comes out how you expect it to?  Insanity!  They also came together super quickly and most important: easily.  I had these whipped up, baked, and cooled in about an hour.  It was a refreshing change from my macaron attempts, and it reminded me why I love this baking thing.  I didn’t cry.  I didn’t yell at my boyfriend.  I didn’t whine and hrmph all over the place. (Yes, I’m ashamed to admit these are all things that happened when making macarons.)

Lindsey + Whoopie Pies = made to be.

The leftover pudding was a little thick.  Ok, so it was concrete-like.  A spoon would’ve stood straight up if I had tested it.  So I whipped a little cream (my boyfriend was beyond impressed with this: “you just…whip it?”) and mixed the pudding in and voila!  Delicious banana cream pie kind of filling.  After sitting in the fridge for a day and coming back to room temperature, the cake stayed wonderfully moist and started to meld with the filling, which was the total textural opposite from the filling on Sweet Mandy B’s pies.  It was light, smooth, and not too sweet.  Although as my dad smartly pointed out, they could’ve used more of it.

don't you just want to nom all over these???

Such a success, and I can’t wait to figure out some more flavors.

5 comments on “Banana Puddin’ Whoopie Pies

  1. thislittlecupcake
    February 23, 2012

    They look AMAZING! Aren’t whoopie pies the greatest? I have also began a recent obsession of them. A friend gave me the book ” Whoopie Pies” by Sarah Billingsley and Amy Treadwell- it’s given me tons of inspiration.

  2. Frank Becker
    February 23, 2012

    Right.
    “Just” whip up some cream and add it to the hard filling.
    That’s what ANYONE would’ve thought.
    Of course! Sure!

  3. macmaker
    February 23, 2012

    @thislittlecupcake – you just got me started on a great big Amazon whoopie pie book search! thank you!

  4. Tom Becker
    February 24, 2012

    You know your brother’s favorite pie flavor is Banana….nom nom nom nom

    • macmaker
      February 24, 2012

      well I’ve got two chillin’ in my freezer with your name on ’em.

Comment? Question? Suggestion?

Information

This entry was posted on February 23, 2012 by in baking, Flavor trials, Macaron and tagged , , , , .

The Archives

My Tumblr

My Foodspotting Sightings